Manja slova Veća slova RSS

Defence Minister Bošković at A5 meeting: Montenegro fully committed to regional defence cooperation

Defence Minister Bošković at A5 meeting: Montenegro fully committed to regional defence cooperation
Published date: 09.12.2016 13:54 | Author: mod

Ispis Print

Defence Minister Predrag Bošković attended today the meeting of the US-Adriatic Charter (A5), which was held in Trakošćan near Varaždin. Minister Bošković expressed Montenegro's full commitment to regional cooperation in the field of defense. 

He stressed that Montenegro remains a credible partner in regional activities aimed at strengthening the stability, both inside and outside the borders of the region. 

The Minister said that A5 member countries, during many years of joint participation in international missions, such as Resolute Support in Afghanistan, have shown persistence in supporting the efforts of the Alliance, significantly contributing to the development and interoperability of its own armed forces. Mr Bošković added that Montenegro, in accordance with its capabilities, will support all future regional initiatives that are aimed at joining capacities in order to maintain peace and security. 

The ministers agreed that significant activities which contributed to the affirmation of the region in the defense sector had been realised over the past year and noted the areas where further efforts are needed in order to achieve common defence goals. They also exchanged views regarding the future activities, with special emphasis on the further contribution and support to the efforts of the allied forces in ensuring peace and security in the Middle East. 

After the plenary session, the ministers signed a joint statement on the principles of future cooperation. 

Croatian Defence Minister Damir Krstičević, Macedonian Defence Minister Zoran Jolevski, Defence Minister of Bosnia and Herzegovina Marina Pendeš, US Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defence Michael Carpenter, Deputy Minister of Defence of Albania Petro Koci, as well as representatives of observer countries, Slovenia, Serbia and Kosovo also participated in the meeting.